Update on my formal request for release of the PACE trial data

Will be interesting to see the results of this…

Quick Thoughts

plos oneAdministrative staff at PLOS asked me to inform them if I had any difficulties obtaining the data that I had formally requested from the authors of the PLOS article. Here is my reply –

The deadline that the authors’ university has set for responding to my request has passed. The university has not responded to my further query as to when the data will be forthcoming.

The author group has a consistent history of refusing requests to provide their data to other investigators. Their PACE clinical trial that served as the basis for the publication in PLOS has become quite controversial. Critics including myself have raised considerable doubts about their basic design, their changing of the trial’s endpoints after the trial began, and their analysis and interpretation of the data. There have also been complaints that analyses in published papers and lack sufficient detail and transparency to allow independent evaluation of what…

View original post 676 more words

Leave a Reply

